United States

Nation: United States

Flag: United States

Description: The United States of America, commonly referred to as the United States or America, is a republic comprising fifty states and a federal district. The country is situated mostly in central North America, where its forty-eight contiguous states and Washington, D.C., the capital district, lie between the Pacific and Atlantic Oceans, bordered by Canada to the north and Mexico to the south. The state of Alaska is in the northwest of the continent, with Canada to the east and Russia to the west across the Bering Strait. The state of Hawaii is an archipelago in the mid-Pacific. The country also possesses several territories in the Caribbean and Pacific.

In 1891, Dr. James Naismith, a physical education instructor at the YMCA (known as the International Young Men's Christian Association Training School) in Springfield, Massachusetts, was trying to keep his gym class active during the rainy New England winters. He invented basketball by nailing a peach basket at a 10-foot elevation. Today roughly 450 million people play basketball.

Link: United States

Argentina    Australia    Austria    Bahamas    Belgium    Bosnia and Herzegovina    Brazil    Bulgaria    Cameroon    Canada    China

Congo    Croatia    Cuba    Czech Republic    Democratic Republic of the Congo    Dominican Republic    Egypt    Finland    France    Georgia    Germany

Great Britain    Greece    Haiti    Iceland    Iran    Ireland    Israel    Italy    Latvia    Lithuania    Jamaica    Japan    Mali

Mexico    Montenegro    Netherlands    New Zealand    Nigeria    North Macedonia    Panama    Philippines    Poland    Puerto Rico    Russia    Senegal

Serbia    Slovenia    South Sudan    Spain    Sweden    Turkey    Ukraine    United States    Venezuela    Virgin Islands